Brexit Withdrawal Agreement Votes

Sarah Champion, Rosie Cooper, Jon Cruddas, Toby Perkins. Grahame Morris (as expected) and Emma Lewell Buck (as has already been reported) vote in favour of Bill #brexit (#wab) Only Lewell Buck voted in favour of the programme request on @UKLabour benches On 6 September 2020, the Financial Times reported that the UK government had planned to develop new laws to circumvent the Northern Ireland Protocol of the withdrawal agreement. [45] The new law would give ministers the power to determine which state aid should be notified to the EU and to define which products at risk of being transferred from Northern Ireland to Ireland (the withdrawal agreement stipulates that in the absence of a reciprocal agreement, all products are considered vulnerable). [47] The government defended this approach and stated that the legislation was in accordance with protocol and that it had only “clarified” the volumity in the protocol. [48] Ursula von der Leyen warned Johnson not to violate international law and said that the implementation of the withdrawal agreement by Britain was a “precondition for any future partnership”. [49] On 8 September, the Minister of Foreign Affairs for Northern Ireland, Brandon Lewis, told the British Parliament that the government`s internal market bill would “violate international law”.” [50] The Brexit withdrawal agreement, officially titled the Uk`s withdrawal agreement from great Britain and Northern Ireland from the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community[3][4], is a treaty signed on 24 January 2020 between the European Union (EU), Euratom and the United Kingdom (Uk)[5] which sets the conditions for the UK`s withdrawal from the EU and Euratom. The text of the treaty was published on 17 October 2019[6] and is a renegotiated version of an agreement published six months earlier. The previous version of the withdrawal agreement was rejected three times by the House of Commons, leading Queen Elizabeth II to accept Theresa May`s resignation as Prime Minister of the United Kingdom and appoint Boris Johnson as the new Prime Minister on 24 July 2019. On the issue of the Irish border, there is a protocol on Northern Ireland (the “backstop”) which is attached to the agreement and establishes a position of withdrawal which will only come into force in the absence of effective alternative provisions before the expiry of the transition period.

In this case, the UK will eclipse the EU`s common external tariff and Northern Ireland will stick to aspects of the internal market until such an event is carried out. Neither party can unilaterally withdraw from this customs union. The aim of this backstop agreement is to avoid a “hard” border in Ireland, where customs controls are needed. [19] As the positions of the political parties had changed significantly, as might be expected, the government was defeated by 432 votes to 202 in the 15 January vote. The 230-vote lead was the worst for a government in the modern history of Parliament. [76] 196 Conservative MPs, 3 Labour MPs and 3 independent MPs supported the agreement. The deal was voted against 118 Conservative MPs, 248 Labour MPs, 35 SNP MPs, 11 Liberal Democrats, 10 DUP MPs, 4 Plaid Cymru MPs, the only Green MP and five independent MPs. [77] This protocol also includes a unilateral withdrawal mechanism for Northern Ireland: the Northern Ireland Parliament will vote every four years to decide whether to continue these schemes, which require a simple majority.

These votes take place two months before the end of each four-year period, with the first period beginning at the end of December 2020 (when the transition period is scheduled). [26] If the Assembly is suspended on that date, the GG vote shall be held.

Posted in Uncategorized